Mods done, tuning now

Well, I have all the parts installed.  Quick recap of what was completed since Feb 2010 (yes it took me a while):
1) Exhaust – Longtube headers, high flo cats, xpipe, left the titanium Corsa in place.
2) Engine – Vararam intake, 100mm MAF, 90mm TB, 102mm FAST manifold.  Fuel lines, rails, regulator.
3) PCM – HP Tuner pro, LC-1 wideband sensor
 
Right now I am tuning the vehicle’s PCM (computer) for the added stuff.  I am using HP Tuner Pro software along with a wideband scanner which is dual purpose between reading air/fuel from the headers and simulating the narrowband stock O2 sensor so my PCM doesn’t freak out.  I am very new to tuning however I am using a great "teach yourself" type training from www.thetuningschool.com.  I highly recommend this course for anyone that wants to get into Tuning.  I am still cleaning up the wiring in the car from the wideband scanner.  It’s all run into the glove compartment currently and I hope to make a container for it to clean things up a bit.
 
Can’t wait to get this thing tuned, already the exhaust note makes it known that I’m not stock anymore heh.
 
So am I done with the vette?  Heck no, lots of other plans.  I am getting pricing for a new motor in the event the stock LS1 (has 196K miles) goes.  I’ll more than likely go forged and I’m looking at either an LS2 with stock bore size or an LS2 402 stroker.  I am going to do dished pistons so I can go blown (supercharger) at a later date.  Working with A&A Corvette in California to get this done, they do great work.
 
That’s it for now.  Hope to get the before and after video of the exhaust sound up here soon.
 
L8r,
Mowpow
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment